Crikey Good Corn Waffles

20151216_180422.jpg

I love corn.  Cornbread, corn on the cob, roasted corn, corn pancakes.  I played around with corn waffle recipes for a while until I perfected it. Here is how I do it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups Milk
  • 1 1/4 Cup Flour
  • 1 1/2 Cups Cornmeal
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Canola Oil
  • 2 Eggs
  • Kernels from 1 Ear of Corn
  • 1 Tsp Baking Powder

First, combine your dry ingredients. (Flour, Cornmeal, Salt, Sugar, BP) Add the eggs, oil and milk.  Stir until everything is incorporated.  Next, add the corn and give it a final stir.  Heat your waffle iron, and start turning out golden goodness.

I eat them with whipped cream, syrup, or jam.  They are great for breakfast, a snack, or desert, and even good with chili in the place of cornbread.

Leave a comment